Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, class 'AGPressGraph\manipulator' does not have a method 'httpsCanonicalURL' in /home/cfnrfm/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
Latest Headlines
Home / Author Archives: Bill Fee (page 4)

Author Archives: Bill Fee

Burn operation planned to protect community southwest of Telegraph Creek

The BC Wildfire Service says residents in Dease Lake, Iskut, and nearby communities will likely see a lot of smoke if a planned burn operation on the  Alkali Lake fire goes ahead. Officials hope to slow the fire’s progression toward Glenora, a community of rural properties southwest of Telegraph Creek. While fire behaviour on the north end of the the ... Read More »

CRD partially downgrades evacuation order in the Kluskus area

The Cariboo Regional District has downgraded the evacuation order for 10 properties in the Kluskus area to an evacuation alert allowing residents to return to the area. The CRD says wildfires remain active and firefighting activities continue in the area and it stresses the need for residents to stay out of active wildfire areas. Officials are warning residents to be ... Read More »

RDBN rescinds evacuation alert along a stretch north of the Highway 16 corridor

The Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako has rescinded an evacuation alert related to the Shovel Lake wildfire. The area no longer under alert stretches from north of Highway 16 to south of Tatin Lake and from east of the Augier Main Forest Service Road to the west border of Stellat’en community of Stellako. The BC Wildfire Service has continued an Area Order Restriction for ... Read More »

RDBN partially lifts some evacuation orders for the Shovel Lake fire

More people forced to flee the Shovel Lake wildfire can return to their properties. The Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako has rescinded a portion of the evacuation orders for the Cunningham and north shore areas of Fraser Lake. Evacuation alerts still remain in place for the area south of the Cunningham Forest Service Road and from lot 5191 east to lot ... Read More »

Area restriction order in place for fire northwest of Fort St. James

The BC Wildfire Service has announced an area restriction order for Crown Land near the Sakeniche wildfire. The fire is burning about 20 kilometres north of Middle River and about 120 kilometres northwest of Fort St. James. The order prevents the people from entering or remaining in the designated area without written permission. Fire officials say the order is in ... Read More »

Southside residents protest the pullout of specialized firefighting gear

A group of Lakes District residents protested the removal of wildfire fighting equipment they hoped would help protect their homes Saturday. About a hundred residents of Southside, a community across Francois Lake, have defied evacuation orders and have stayed with their homes as the Babine Complex of fires rages to over 1100 square kilometres. The BC Wildfire Service says a ... Read More »

RDBN rescinds portion of Nadina Lake fire evacuation alert

The the Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako has rescinded part of the evacuation alert related to the Nadina Lake wildfire. The area given the all clear is from east of Highway 35 to west of the Terser Lake Forest Service Road and south of the Seven Mile Forest Service Road to the north shore of Francois Lake. An evacuation alert remains in ... Read More »

CRD downgrades evacuation order/alert for some areas

The wildfire threat in the Cariboo Regional District is easing for some areas. The CRD has downgraded the evacuation order for 23 properties in the Narcosli area to an evacuation alert. Officials are reminding residents that since the area remains on evacuation alert, they must be prepared in case the area receives a future evacuation order. Information about what to do ... Read More »

Quesnel Walmart thief pepper sprays two off-duty Mounties

Quesnel Mounties are looking for a suspect after an attempted robbery at the local Walmart. Police were called to the store just before 9:00 p.m. Friday night.  Two off-duty officers hear an employee yelling at a man who had stolen a television and threatened staff with bear spray. The two officers chased the man through the parking lot towards Highway ... Read More »

RDBN partially rescinds evacuation order for north shore of Fraser Lake

Some residents on the north shore of Fraser Lake will be able to go home. The Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako has partially rescinded an evacuation order related to the Shovel Lake wildfire. The area downgraded to an evacuation alert includes the north shore of Fraser Lake from east of the Stella Forest Service Road to the properties on the east side ... Read More »

%d bloggers like this: