Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, class 'AGPressGraph\manipulator' does not have a method 'httpsCanonicalURL' in /home/cfnrfm/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
Latest Headlines
Home / Event / 2015 BC Aboriginal Business Awards
2015 BC Aboriginal Business Awards

2015 BC Aboriginal Business Awards

June 30, 2015 all-day America/Vancouver Timezone
Online submissions end June 30th
604-261-9777 or 866-882-6088
2015 BC Aboriginal Business Awards @ Online submissions end June 30th

The British Columbia Aboriginal Business Awards are presented by The British Columbia Achievement Foundation, an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of British Columbia in 2003 to celebrate excellence and achievement in British Columbia and Canada. These awards celebrate the accomplishments of the province’s Aboriginal business sector and its contribution to the economy of British Columbia.

These awards honour business acumen in four categories as described below. An independent jury of Aboriginal business experts review the nominations and select the awardees in accordance with the awards’ criteria.

All Aboriginal businesses and entrepreneurs in British Columbia are eligible for these awards. Whether you are a small business owner or a sole proprietor running a business out of your home, managing a large staff of a community-owned or social enterprise or creating opportunities through a joint venture agreement, or you are growing a business from the ground up as an entrepreneur, these awards recognize and celebrate your achievements.
Award Categories
Young Aboriginal Entrepreneur
The Young Aboriginal Entrepreneur award recognizes achieved success in the operation of an existing business. Entrants must be under the age of 30, the sole owner of the business and have been in business for at least two years.

Aboriginal Business of the Year Awards
Businesses must be at least 51 per cent Aboriginal-owned and operated. The Business of the Year Award recognizes business achievement and celebrates the entrepreneurial spirit in three sub-categories:
a one-to-two person enterprise
a three-to-10 person enterprise
a 10 or more person enterprise

Aboriginal Community-Owned Business of the Year Award
To be eligible for this award, businesses must be 100 percent community-owned. This award will celebrate the contribution this unique business undertaking has made to capacity building and strong economic foundations in British Columbia’s Aboriginal communities and the wider economy.

Aboriginal Joint Venture Business of the Year Award
The Joint Venture Award promotes and celebrates efforts that contribute to the economic well-being of the area; increases the employment of Aboriginal people; provides learning or training opportunities to Aboriginal people and businesses; and shows a commitment to the community in which they operate. A joint venture is a specific business entity formed between two or more parties. Aboriginal ownership must be 50% or more.
All nominees must be Aboriginal (First Nations, Métis, or Inuit).
All businesses must have been in operation for a minimum of two years.
Individuals and businesses may enter in one category only.
Please ensure that if you are nominating a business or a business person for an award that you have their approval for the nomination.
Submissions will be considered for two years.
Government agencies and institutions are not eligible for these awards.
Social and/or not for profit enterprises may enter in the appropriate category
Previous recipients must wait five years before reapplying unless the nature of the business has significantly changed
Previous Outstanding Business Achievers may reapply after two years

Award Criteria
The judges’ panel will evaluate submissions based on the documentation provided and will be guided by the success and sustainability of the business.

Selection of Award Recipients
An independent panel of judges representing Aboriginal business expertise throughout British Columbia will adjudicate the BC Aboriginal Business Awards. The judges’ panel will select a first place Recipient and up to two second place Outstanding Business Achievers. The judges’ panel will be solely responsible for the review, evaluation and selection of Awardees. Recipient and Outstanding Business Achievers will be invited to Gala Presentation Ceremony as guests and their travel and accommodation expenses will be paid by the BC Achievement Foundation.

You can enter online here.

Award Recognition
Recipients and Outstanding Business Achievers will be honoured at a Gala Presentation Ceremony and Dinner in the Fall. Over 500 guests will be in attendance, including a blend of Aboriginal leadership, political and senior business leaders, family and friends.


2015 Advisory Board
Jacob Beaton
Director of Communications and Technology, Castlemain Group and 2009 Recipient

Greg D’Avignon
President and Chief Executive Officer, Business Council of BC

Lana Eagle
President, Industry Council for Aboriginal Business

Paulette Flamond
Executive Director, Northeast Aboriginal Business and Wellness Centre

Cliff Fregin
Chief Executive Officer, New Relationship Trust

Keith Henry
Chief Executive Officer, Aboriginal Tourism Association of British Columbia

Peter Lantin
President, Council of the Haida Nation

Judith Sayers
Strategic Adviser, Sayers Strategic Advice

Mark Selman
Director EMBA, Aboriginal and Business Leadership, Beedie School of Business

Ken Tourand
President/CEO, Nicola Valley Institute of Technology

Ruth Williams
Consultant, 2013 Individual Achiever Recipient
Supporting Organizations
The BC Aboriginal Business Awards are supported by:
BC Assembly of First Nations
First Nations Summit
Métis Nation BC
Union of BC Indian Chiefs
BC Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation

About Tania Vance

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: