Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, class 'AGPressGraph\manipulator' does not have a method 'httpsCanonicalURL' in /home/cfnrfm/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
Latest Headlines
Home / News / Nisga’a Nation’s first woman president takes office
Nisga’a Nation’s first woman president takes office
President Eva Clayton of the Nisga'a Nation takes the oath of office. (Credit: Nisga'a Lisims Government)

Nisga’a Nation’s first woman president takes office

The Nisga’a Nation inaugurated it’s first woman president this morning in New Aiyansh.

Eva Clayton of Gitlaxta’amiks won the presidency during the November 2nd general election.

She had run for the presidency in the last election but lost to former Nisga’a president Mitchell Stevens. She credits her successful campaign this time due to the Nisga’a people wanting more transparency and accountability.

She says praises the previous governments for doing a good job of keeping the Nisga’a people informed but says her election to office is an on-going evolution of the Nisga’a government.

President Clayton says her first action will be to review the previous administration’s work and ensure continuity with her administration.

While she’s the first female president of the Nisga’a Nation, President Clayton says the important role of women has always been recognized by all levels of Nisga’a governments.

The veteran politician says it just took some time for that recognition to reach into the political realm.

She points to the large number of Nisga’a women who are in prominent positions within the Nisga’a government and administration.

President Eva Clayton won the Nisga’a presidential election with 836 votes, while incumbent Mitchell Stevens, her closest rival, got 640 ballots.


About CFNR Team

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: