Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, class 'AGPressGraph\manipulator' does not have a method 'httpsCanonicalURL' in /home/cfnrfm/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
Latest Headlines
Home / 2018 / BC Liberals pick Andrew Wilkinson as leader
BC Liberals pick Andrew Wilkinson as leader

BC Liberals pick Andrew Wilkinson as leader

British Columbia’s Liberals have turned to a former cabinet minister to lead the party as Andrew Wilkinson edged out former Conservative MP Dianne Watts in a leadership contest Saturday night.
Wilkinson won with just over 53 per cent support, while Watts had just under 47 per cent.
Watts led the contest after four rounds of voting.
Former transportation minister Todd Stone, one-time finance minister Mike de Jong and Liberal caucus members Sam Sullivan and Michael Lee were eliminated earlier in the evening.
Wilkinson was backed by a number of northern BC MLAs, including Skeena’s Ellis Ross, John Rustad in Nechako Lakes, and Donna Barnett in Cariboo-Chilcotin, and Mike Morris in Prince George Mackenzie.
An estimated 60,000 party members were eligible to vote online and by phone to replace Christy Clark, who resigned after the New Democrats formed a minority government last summer, ending the Liberals 16 years in power.
The party used a preferential ballot that allowed its members to rank the candidates, and points were awarded based on their support.

(The Canadian Press)

About Bill Fee

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: