Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, class 'AGPressGraph\manipulator' does not have a method 'httpsCanonicalURL' in /home/cfnrfm/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
Latest Headlines
Home / News / NDP announces new cabinet
NDP announces new cabinet

NDP announces new cabinet

The new premier John Horgan announced his new cabinet that will feature the first Indigenous woman appointed to cabinet.

Horgan says he is building a better B.C. and looking to get results.

“Starting today, we will deliver a government that works for people. We’re going to work hard every day to build a better B.C.,” said Horgan.

Horgan’s cabinet is made up of 20 ministers and two ministers of state. He also named six MLAs as parliamentary secretaries, and his cabinet is the first in the province to achieve gender parity with 10 women in cabinet and one named minister of state.

The new government has a mix of experienced MLAs and fresh young faces. Four ministers and two parliamentary secretaries are 40 and under, 10 members identify as visible minorities and the new government is putting a special focus on jobs and opportunity in B.C.’s tech sector.

Ministerial portfolios reflect the government’s focus on making life better for people including a stand-alone Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions, a Minister of State for Child Care, and a Minister for Social Development and Poverty Reduction.

“Our government will offer families relief from high costs and fees, strengthen services like health care and education, and create good jobs and economic opportunity across B.C.,” said Premier John Horgan.

“We will put people at the heart of everything we do. And we’ll work hard to deliver on our commitments to British Columbians.”


The following are the new members of the Executive Council:

  •  Premier – Hon. John Horgan
  • Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Training – Hon. Melanie Mark
  • Minister of Agriculture – Hon. Lana Popham
  • Attorney General – Hon. David Eby
  • Minister of Children and Family Development – Hon. Katrine Conroy
  • Minister of State for Child Care – Hon. Katrina Chen
  • Minister of Citizens’ Services – Hon. Jinny Sims
  • Minister of Education – Hon. Rob Fleming
  • Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources – Hon. Michelle Mungall
  • Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy – Hon. George Heyman
  • Minister of Finance and Deputy Premier – Hon. Carole James
  • Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations, and Rural Development – Hon. Doug Donaldson
  • Minister of Health – Hon. Adrian Dix
  • Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation – Hon. Scott Fraser
  • Minister of Jobs, Trade, and Technology – Hon. Bruce Ralston
  • Minister of State for Trade – Hon. George Chow
  • Minister of Labour – Hon. Harry Bains
  • Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Hon. Judy Darcy
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing – Hon. Selina Robinson
  • Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General – Hon. Mike Farnworth
  • Minister of Social Development and Poverty Reduction – Hon. Shane Simpson
  • Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture – Hon. Lisa Beare
  •  Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure – Hon. Claire Trevena

Parliamentary secretaries

  • * Parliamentary Secretary for Emergency Preparedness – Jennifer Rice
  • * Parliamentary Secretary for Poverty Reduction – Mable Elmore
  • * Parliamentary Secretary for Seniors – Anne Kang
  • * Parliamentary Secretary for Sport and Multiculturalism – Ravi Kahlon
  • * Parliamentary Secretary for Technology – Rick Glumac
  • * Parliamentary Secretary for TransLink – Bowinn Ma

About CFNR Team

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: